This is not a beginner course. Basic handgun skills are required.
If you do not have the experience let us know. We can schedule additional time after the class to get you on target if needed at no additional cost.
If you do not have a handgun we have loaners that you can use for free, the only request is that you pay for the ammunition.
You must be 21 years old.
The Minnesota Personal Protection Course requirements were set by the Minnesota Legislature in MN 624.714, Subd. 2a. The state requirements are the minimum requirements for a carry permit in Minnesota. At A.F.T.E.R. MN, additional training is covered to enhance the learning experience through classroom and practical hands on exercises.
To register look on the "UPCOMING CLASSES" scheduled dates then go to the registration page and sign up. There is also the "Online Conceal Carry Class" for the renewal and more experienced shooter.
The price of the Conceal Carry class is $75.00.
This includes targets, ear and eye protection, class material, range fees, use of a firearm if needed (ammunition not included).
Minnesota's Personal Protection Act
MN 624.714 Subd. 2a. Training in the safe use of a pistol. (a) An applicant must present evidence that the applicant received training in the safe use of a pistol within one year of the date of an original or renewal application.
Training may be demonstrated by:
(1) employment as a peace officer in the state of Minnesota within the past year; or
(2) completion of a firearms safety or training course providing basic training in the safe use
of a pistol and conducted by a certified instructor.
(b) Basic training must include:
(1) instruction in the fundamentals of pistol use;
(2) successful completion of an actual shooting qualification exercise; and
(3) instruction in the fundamental legal aspects of pistol possession, carry, and use, including self-defense and the restrictions on the use of deadly force.
(c) The certified instructor must issue a certificate to a person who has completed a firearms
safety or training course described in paragraph (b). The certificate must be signed by the
instructor and attest that the person attended and completed the course.
(d) A person qualifies as a certified instructor if the person is certified as a firearms instructor
within the past five years by an organization or government entity that has been approved by the Department of Public Safety in accordance with the department's standards.
(e) A sheriff must accept the training described in this subdivision as meeting the requirement in subdivision 2, paragraph (b), for training in the safe use of a pistol. A sheriff may also accept other satisfactory evidence of training in the safe use of a pistol.
This is a class you can do at your own pace. It is the same class information as our live class. There are modules to watch a few written tests and then we schedule the live fire at our range. You must have experience in the use of a handgun.
The cost is $65.00
Copyright © 2023 A.F.T.E.R.MN.LLC - All Rights Reserved.